Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical Classification System (ATC)

The World Health Organization's (WHO) Anatomical Therapeutic Chemical (ATC) classification system is used to categorize and organize medical drugs. The ATC classification groups drugs based on their therapeutic properties, chemical composition, and anatomical effects. This standardized method helps ensure that essential medicines are readily available and helps in managing and distributing medical resources globally. The ATC system is widely used by countries around the world and plays an important role in the pharmaceutical industry.

ATC first-level groups

In the ATC classification system, the active substances are divided into fourteen main groups or 1st levels according to the organ or system on which they act and their therapeutic, pharmacological and chemical properties.

Alimentary tract and metabolism
Blood and blood forming organs
Cardiovascular system
Genito urinary system and sex hormones
Systemic hormonal preparations, excl. Sex hormones and insulins
Antiinfectives for systemic use
Antineoplastic and immunomodulating agents
Musculo-skeletal system
Nervous system
Antiparasitic products, insecticides and repellents
Respiratory system
Sensory organs