SIMULECT Powder and solvent for solution for injection

Active ingredients: Basiliximab

Product name and form

Simulect 20 mg powder and solvent for solution for injection or infusion.

Pharmaceutical Form

Powder and solvent for solution for injection or infusion.

White powder.

Qualitative and quantitative composition

Each vial contains 20 mg basiliximab*.

One ml of the reconstituted solution contains 4 mg basiliximab.

* recombinant murine/human chimeric monoclonal antibody directed against the interleukin-2 receptor α-chain (CD25 antigen) produced in a mouse myeloma cell line by recombinant DNA technology.

For the full list of excipients, see section 6.1.

Active Ingredient

Basiliximab is a murine/human chimeric monoclonal antibody (IgG1κ) that is directed against the interleukin-2 receptor α-chain (CD25 antigen), which is expressed on the surface of T-lymphocytes in response to antigenic challenge. Basiliximab specifically binds with high affinity (KD-value 0.1 nM) to the CD25 antigen on activated T-lymphocytes expressing the high affinity interleukin-2 receptor (IL-2R) and thereby prevents binding of interleukin-2, a critical signal for T-cell proliferation in the cellular immune response involved in allograft rejection.

List of Excipients


Potassium dihydrogen phosphate
Disodium phosphate, anhydrous
Sodium chloride
Mannitol (E421)


Water for injections

Pack sizes and marketing

Simulect powder: Colourless type I glass vial, grey fluor-resin coated butyl rubber stopper, held in place by a flanged aluminium band, blue polypropylene flip-off cap, containing 20 mg basiliximab as powder for solution for injection or infusion.

Solvent: Colourless glass ampoule, type I glass, containing 5 ml water for injections. Simulect is also available in vials with 10 mg basiliximab.

Marketing authorization holder

Novartis Europharm Limited, Vista Building, Elm Park, Merrion Road, Dublin 4, Ireland

Marketing authorization dates and numbers


Date of first authorisation: 09/10/1998

Date of latest renewal: 09/10/2008


Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Ecuador, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Lithuania, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States, South Africa